Side effects of ICT?

 top-skills[1]

I found this photo on the internet which I found quite intriguing. There is an ongoing debate if the use of ICT is damaging the learning levels of students. In my opinion, I find that it is not about whether or not ICT is a problem, but rather how we are teaching ICT and pedagogy to the children, which brings us right back around to why EDC 3100 is such a useful and very helpful course to be taken while studying to become a teacher. I have to say that looking at the 4 reasons that are apparently side effects of ICT learning can come from many other ways of learning and teaching, not just from ICT. In the end, I believe it all comes down to pedagogy and how we teach the skills and information with a balance to the children.

Image can be found at – http://edudemic.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/top-skills.jpg

Leave a comment